Summerlea United Church
225 50th Ave, Lachine, Québec, H8T2T7, Canada. 514-634-2651

(Last updated 28-3-2014)

Folks | Pages

Chamber Music 2014

On March 23 a small but enthusiastic audience at Summerlea was treated to a truly memorable musical experience.
Elias-Axel Pettersson (piano) has become well known to Summerlea music lovers. On Sunday he returned with two colleagues to bring us the rare treat of exquisitly performed Trio music spanning the 129 years from 1795 to 1924.
Both Roland Arnassalon (violin) and Noémie Raymond-Friset (cello) have appeared before at Summerlea (twice and once respectively) but this marked the first time the three have performed as a trio for us.

Musical biographies of the three performers
can be seen by clicking below:
Musical Bios

The program opened with one of my favourite composers: Sergei Rachmaninoff. It was a treat for me to hear live a piece that I know well: Piano Trio No. 1 ("Trio élégiaque") written when Rachmaninoff was only 19 years old and composed to honour his friend and mentor Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky.
Piano Trio No. 40 by Franz Joseph Hadyn follows and you can hear the second movement of this work below.
The last work of the first half of the program was "Three Nocturnes for Piano Trio" by the Swiss born American composer Earnest Bloch written in 1924. The atmospheric and evocative works had the audience entranced. Nocturnes 1 and 2 evoked calm moonlight over water whilst the third was more like a disturbing dream that wakes one with a quickening pulse.
The second half of the program was a forty minute work by Franz Schubert: Piano Trio No. 1 in B-flat.
Three sound files are included for your pleasure. They were chosen mainly for length and size considerations.
They are the gentle Adagio movement of the Haydn trio and the last two Bloch Nocturnes.

Top | Folks | Pages